Hello Kitty Café

Once upon a time I was in a faraway land called Seoul. As I skipped along with my rose-colored dreams and rose-colored glasses, I happened upon a special kind of heaven. A pink and bejeweled heaven filled with kawaii (カワイイ) and aegyo (애교) dreams topped with a dollop of delicious caffeine: a Hello Kitty Café.

OMG I FOUND THE HELLO KITTY CAFE!!

OMG I FOUND THE HELLO KITTY CAFE!!

Everything was so cute! And pink! I wandered around the café with a super adorable look on my face (I mean, really, how could I not look cute in a Hello Kitty Café?!?!)

so much pink!

so much pink!

omgz cuteness overload!

omgz cuteness overload!

And look! Even the loo was cute! Finally a potty that could gently cradle my cute defecating arse as it deserved to be cradled! At last!

omg! even the toilet is adorbz.

omg! even the toilet is adorbz.

I hemmed and hawed, in a cute way– duh, over what drink I should order. Thinking that coffee would be too coarse for my tiny tummy and not nearly adorable enough, I opted for a much lighter and sweeter drink: a cute, luke-warm cup of over-sweetened green tea latté! Heaven!

overwhelmed with my cute coffee choices! green tea latte here i come!

overwhelmed with my cute coffee choices! green tea latte here i come!

cute! but lukewarm and disappointing!

cute! lukewarm! and terribly disappointing!

And because I am such a good sport, I drank half of the cute, barely warm green tea sugar that I had ordered and spent about ten minutes contemplating buying myself a different, but still adorable(!) morning beverage. Ultimately, yours truly decided that her sparkly coins would be better spent at Monsanto than at the AMAZING HELLO KITTY CAFÉ!!!!1!!

but still! so cute!

but still! so cute!

To get to this particular Hello Kitty Café (because, duh, there are 4 such cafés in Seoul), it’s near Hyehwa Station (Subway Line 4). The address is 106 Samcheong-ro, Jongno-gu, Seoul. Check out the website here. Whatever you do, don’t get creative and order the green tea latté. Opt for a regular latté instead.

Leave a Reply

