Assimilation

In an attempt to feel more comfortable with my new home, I find myself trying to assimilate. First, I traded in my contacts for bulky, hipster glasses:

Hipster Frames in Seoul

Just hanging out in Seoul with my hipster frames

Next, I began collecting/wearing cute socks:

Only *some* of the socks that I've collected over the past few months...

Only *some* of the socks that I’ve collected over the past few months…

Obama will keep me warm on cold, Korean nights...

Obama will keep me warm on cold, Korean nights…

A Day-Glo toroto beanie followed:

mmmm....

Neon Totoro beanie + green tea bingsu = bliss

And then came the oversized hair-clips and adorable hair-ties:

Adorable hair accessories

Hair accessories

Why stop there? Next came tennis shoes with skirts:

Posing next to a crab tank in a skirt and "tennie" shoes

Posing next to a crab tank in a skirt and “tennie” shoes

Felt culturally obligated to upgrade my simple cellphone cover to one featuring Domo, a cute [Japanese] monster:

Bulky but necessary smart phone case

Bulky but necessary smart phone case

When my friend/co-worker suggested we buy matching sweaters, I nearly cried:

Matching holiday sweaters from Lotte Mart!

Matching holiday sweaters from Lotte Mart!

And then came the BB Cream:

The Beauty Cure All: BB CREAM

The Beauty Cure All: BB CREAM

Next, I got in the habit of using two hands to make everyday tasks (like pouring alcohol) more polite:

Oh you know, just *politely* pouring a beer on a Friday night...

Oh you know, just some Friday night debauchery… 

And now, my most recent endeavor, wearing protective face masks in public:

Thermal face mask with decorate snowflakes!

Thermal face mask with decorative snowflakes!

What’s next? I’m thinking fringe. Or maybe dying Sigma’s fur a fun new color…

6 responses to “Assimilation

  1. The superficialness of the place can wear on everyone, I myself have found my glasses to be of an ever increasing size as well!

    but its like they say, change the paint, keep the car

  2. Love this! Socks, check (I have the same pirate ones! Couple <3) Hat, check. Mask, check. Hair Accessories, check. How's the BB cream? Does it have magical powers (or bleach?)

  3. Pingback: Merry Christmas! | Plastic Whales·

Leave a Reply

