B.A.S.K. Last Minute Prep

Final preparations for B.A.S.K. (Bike Across S. Korea) are underway. I have less than a day to go until I leave for Seoul (eek!). So. Much. To. Do.

  1. Check weather for each day/location of the trek
  2. Prepare a bag for Sigma’s sitter
  3. Pack (ugh)
  4. Replace back tire and have bike checked out
  5. Dispose of perishables in fridge
  6. (I’m sure that I’m forgetting something…)

I’ve also managed to plan out where I will be spending each of the four touring nights…

  • Day 0: Leave Seoul (0km) … Sunny with rain showers
  • Night 1: Yeoju (93km from Seoul) … Rainy on Sat./Sunny on Sun.
  • Night 2: Maseong (Jinnam Station) (220km from Seoul) … Sunny on Mon.
  • Night 3: Sinyeong (350km)/Cheongtong (360km from Seoul) … Sunny on Tues.
  • Night 4: Habuk (Tongdosa) (450km from Seoul) … Sunny on Wed.
  • Day 5: End in Busan (500km) … Sunny on Thurs.

This means that I will be averaging roughly 112km (70 miles) a day for the first four days. On the fifth day I will finish up the tour with a 48km (30 mile) ride into Busan.

I am aiming to pack only essentials (+some vegetarian foodstuffs). While I consider myself to be a decently strong person generally, I worry about touring with a completely loaded bike. Ultimately, at this point, I just don’t think that I am strong enough to navigate Korea’s mountains with heavy panniers.

Here’s what I am thinking:

  • Toolkit/patch kit
  • Smart phone + extra battery + charger
  • Camera + Charger
  • 1 short sleeve jersey/ 1 long sleeve jersey
  • 1 pair bike shorts/ 1 pair leggings
  • 1 pair PJs
  • 5 pairs underwear/ 2 pairs socks
  • 2 sports bras
  • 1 pair Keens
  • Aspirin
  • Oatmeal/Almonds/Soyjoys/Peanut Butter
  • Maps
  • Passport/Alien Registration Card
  • Itinerary back to Cheonan

Alright, well… I guess I should wrap this post up. It has gone on long enough and its disjointed and unwieldy nature might scare off some of my followers! hah!

Had to get my tire replaced… yellow or red? uh.. YELLOW PLEASE!

One response to “B.A.S.K. Last Minute Prep

  1. Pingback: B.A.S.K. Part 3: Suanbo to Sangju | Plastic Whales·

Leave a Reply

